CBC Live Coverage of Calgary Stampede/plus full broadcast schedule

CBC, CBCSPORTS.CA and bold PRESENT EXCLUSIVE LIVE COVERAGE OF THE 98th ANNUAL CALGARY STAMPEDE
image003
Championship chuckwagons and world-class rodeo riders are Calgary bound! From July 9 – 18, CBC, CBCSports.ca and CBC’s digital channel bold will present daily coverage of the legendary Calgary Stampede.  bold and CBCSports.ca will present live coverage of the rodeo and chuckwagon action each day while CBC will feature weeknight rodeo wrap-up broadcasts on July 9 and 12 – 16 as well as two prime-time chuckwagon specials on July 10 and 17. The final championship events can be seen on CBC July 18 including Showdown Sunday – rodeo’s richest afternoon with $1 million dollars up for grabs – the Calgary Stampede Championship and the Rangeland Derby Final (please see complete broadcast schedule attached).

Doug Dirks hosts CBC’s broadcasts alongside Jim Van Horne who will provide rodeo play-by-play. Former PRCA champion bull rider Cody Snyder will serve as rodeo analyst while four-time Calgary Stampede champion Tom Glass will provide analysis for the Chuckwagon event. National Cowboy Hall of Fame announcer Bob Tallman joins the telecast for special features and CBC’s Kristina Barnes will report from the infield throughout the week. CBC’s Scott Oake will host Final Showdown Sunday.

Live coverage begins on Friday, July 9 at 9:30 a.m. MT on CBC for viewers in Southern Alberta, Calgary and Lethbridge with The Calgary Stampede Parade, on bold, and streamed live on CBCSports.ca, with a special encore presentation for viewers across the country on Saturday, July 10 at 8 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. ET on CBC.

Plus, this year The Calgary Stampede and bold are giving viewers a chance to win a trip to the 2011 Calgary Stampede, including tickets and a behind-the-scenes tour, with the City Slickers contest.  Canadians can visit calgarystampede.com/boldtv to enter.

Fans in Calgary can take part in all of the festivities along with CBC Calgary! Calgary Stampede activities launch with the CBC Calgary/ATCO Blue Flame Stampede Breakfast, July 8 from 7 – 9 am MT.  CBC Radio One’s The Calgary Eyeopener with Jim Brown will broadcast live on location from the Breakfast.  CBC News Calgary weather specialist Danielle Savoni will bring viewers their Stampede forecast from the Stampede grounds weekdays on CBC News Calgary between 5, 5:30 & 6 pm MT.  And, Calgary Stampede attendees should be on the lookout for “Quick Draw” Drew Scherban on the grounds throughout the week.  Scherban will be tweeting and Facebooking clues to his whereabouts, and giving away some great CBC prizes along the way.

bold is available on the following channels; Bell TV 641; Rogers 277; Shaw 96; Shaw Direct 512/156;  Cogeco 166; EastLink 150;  MTS 303; SaskTel 65 and TELUS 178.  bold HD is available on Rogers 548, Cogeco 759 and EastLink 637.  For more information on how to subscribe to bold, viewers can call their local television service provider or visit boldtv.ca.

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, Internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages.

THE CALGARY STAMPEDE ON CBC BROADCAST SCHEDULE
Schedule Subject to Change

CBC Television

Friday, July 9                      9:30 a.m. MT LIVE                                            Calgary Stampede Parade on CBC
(S. Alberta, Calgary and Lethbridge)
9 p.m. (Calgary only)                                       Rodeo Wrap-Up
11:05 p.m. / 12 a.m. AT                                 Rodeo Wrap-Up

Saturday, July 10              8 a.m. MT/10 a.m. ET                                      Calgary Stampede Parade on CBC
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET   LIVE                       Rangeland Derby & Rodeo Wrap- Up

Sunday, July 11                 12 a.m. / 12:30 a.m. NT                  Calgary Stampede on CBC: Weekend
Wrap-Up

Monday, July 12               9 p.m. MT (Calgary only)                              Rodeo Wrap-Up                              
11:05 p.m. / 12 a.m. AT                  Rodeo Wrap-Up

Tuesday, July 13               9 p.m. MT (Calgary only)                               Rodeo Wrap-Up
11:05 p.m./ 12 a.m. AT                                   Rodeo Wrap-Up

Wednesday, July 14        9 p.m. MT (Calgary only)                              Rodeo Wrap-Up
11:05 p.m./ 12 a.m. AT                                   Rodeo Wrap-Up

Thursday, July 15              9 p.m. MT (Calgary only)                              Rodeo Wrap-Up
11:05 p.m./ 12 a.m. AT                                   Rodeo Wrap-Up

Friday, July 16                    9 p.m. MT (Calgary only)                              Rodeo Wrap-Up
11:05 p.m./ 12 a.m. AT                                   Rodeo Wrap-Up

Saturday, July 17              8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                        Rangeland Derby & Wild Card
Saturday

Sunday, July 18                 2 p.m. MT / 4 p.m. ET LIVE                            Showdown Sunday
8 p.m. / 11 p.m. AT                                          Calgary Stampede Championship
12:30 a.m. / 2 a.m. AT                                     Rangeland Derby Finals
CBCSports.ca

Friday, July 9                      9:30 a.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. ET LIVE              Calgary Stampede Parade on CBC
1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day One
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                        Rangeland Derby

Saturday, July 10              8 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. ET                                     Calgary Stampede Parade on CBC
1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day Two
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby & Rodeo Wrap-Up

Sunday, July 11                 1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day Three
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby

Monday, July 12               1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Four
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby

Tuesday, July 13               1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day Five
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby

Wednesday, July 14        1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day Six
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby

Thursday, July 15              1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day Seven
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby

Friday, July 16                    1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Day Eight
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby

Saturday, July 17              1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Wild Card Saturday
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rangeland Derby & Wild Card Saturday

Sunday, July 18                 2 p.m. MT/ 4 p.m. ET LIVE                             Showdown Sunday
6 p.m. MT/ 8 p.m. ET LIVE                             Calgary Stampede Championship
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rangeland Derby Finals

bold

Friday, July 9                      9:30 a.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. ET LIVE              Calgary Stampede Parade on CBC
1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                          Rodeo Day One
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rangeland Derby
9:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 p.m. ET                       Rodeo Day One (Encore)

Saturday, July 10              1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                          Rodeo Day Two
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                  Rangeland Derby & Rodeo Wrap- Up
12:30 a.m. MT / 2:30 a.m. ET                                 Rodeo Day Two (Encore)

Sunday, July 11                 1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Three
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby
3:30 a.m. MT / 5:30 a.m. ET                                  Rodeo Day Three (Encore)

Monday, July 12               1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Four
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby
9:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 p.m. ET                      Rodeo Day Four (Encore)

Tuesday, July 13               1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Five
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby
9:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 p.m. ET                      Rodeo Day Five (Encore)

Wednesday, July 14        1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Six
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                 Rangeland Derby
9:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 p.m. ET                       Rodeo Day Six (Encore)

Thursday, July 15              1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Seven
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby
9:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 p.m. ET                       Rodeo Day Seven (Encore)

Friday, July 16                    1:30 MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rodeo Day Eight
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                                 Rangeland Derby
9:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 p.m. ET                      Rodeo Day Eight (Encore)

Saturday, July 17              1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET LIVE                Rodeo Wild Card Saturday
8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rangeland Derby &
Wild Card Saturday
10 p.m. MT / 12 a.m. ET                           Rodeo Wild Card Saturday (Encore)

Sunday, July 18                 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET LIVE                         Rangeland Derby Finals

2 thoughts on “CBC Live Coverage of Calgary Stampede/plus full broadcast schedule

  1. I think your TV coverage of the Calgary Stampede is the worst I have seen in along time . I guess that the aveage Joe who can’t afford to go,or have extra channel pay for..should watch it or only see halve of it. Nice!! and what I have seen, makes me ashame that I am a Calgarian.and that my Dad was part of this great show.The show that is part of our heritage ……

  2. We just watched the coverage of the Rodeo and Chuckwagon Races and was very disappointed. Considering the amount of years I have watched and listened , this is by far the worst ever. If I only wanted the highlights I would watch the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *